Magnetic Makeup Board

Standard

I’ll admit it I am a total makeup hoarder.  I’m one of those people who likes to try every new product that hits the market (probably the reason I have 15 different brands of mascaras, eye shadow, concealers, primers, and foundations). With this much makeup in my collection, it seems my bathroom counter is always cluttered with product.  I’ve tried many different organizational solutions like putting boxes inside my draws and even keeping all my daily use products in one giant makeup bag on the counter. When I found this magnetic makeup board pin  from Laura Thought’s blog I knew I had to try it. You can find the directions and the original pin here.

My crazy messy counter!

My crazy messy counter!

CIMG2811

…And my attempt at organizing my drawers!

CIMG2799My board took me about 15 minutes to make and cost me about $18. I found an empty frame at Wal-Mart for $4 sheet metal sized to the frame at Lowe’s for about $10 and adhesive magnetic tape at Lowe’s for $4. (If you can’t find adhesive magnetic tape, small magnets and hot glue work as well).

CIMG2801

 

 

The first step is to place the sheet metal within the frame and press down the frame fasteners. You can now hang the frame if you’d like.  I placed mine up against the counter wall (I don’t have enough wall space to hang it in my bathroom).

 

 

 

CIMG2814

 

 

Next take all the products you want to hang on the board and attach the magnetic tape to the back.  Make sure you put even on the container. Some of my products are very heavy so I added four pieces of the tape.

 

 

 

Lastly place all your products with magnetic tape on the board… It’s that easy! If you have any products slipping down the board just add some more tape! I started adding the magnetic tape to my products outside and figured out that the heat actually caused the adhesive on the tape to not stick as well, it may be best to apply the tape it in a cool room, or not in direct sunlight.

CIMG2817

The end product!

I’m claiming this pin Pinteresting! It was a great solution to my cluttered bathroom counter and actually looks really cool! Do you have any other tips and tricks for organizing your makeup collection? Comment about them below!

Happy Pinning!

Leave a Reply

