Almost Paleo Banana Nut Bread

Standard

One of my favorite  treats has always been banana nut bread.  Making homemade banana bread was always one of my best childhood memories. I loved helping my grandmother measure out the ingredients, getting to use the hand mixer to combine it all together, and the sweet smell that infused the kitchen as it baked. Banana nut bread is still one of my favorite treats as an adult, but my dietary choices have changed quite a bit.  I was extremely excited when I found a Paleo version of this recipe from Fat Girl Trapped in a Skinny Body’s site on Pinterest.

DSC01163

Instead of using regular flour and all sorts of sugars, this recipe keeps it simple, to the point and has great flavor.  I’m calling my version of this pin “Almost Paleo Banana Nut Bread” due to the fact that my sisters are beyond picky eaters.  I enjoyed making the recipe as is, but they insisted on adding a ½ cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 cup of walnuts to curb their ridiculous chocolate cravings.   I also bake my bread in muffin tins, not only is it a great portion control, it’s easy to take and eat on the go. You can find the original pin and recipe here. The recipe is incredibly simple and only took me 20 minutes to make and about 35 minutes to bake.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Combine the bananas, eggs, vanilla extract, honey, almond extract and coconut oil in a food processor (my food processor magically disappeared before making this recipe so I improvised and used my blender).  After the wet ingredients are well combined, add in the almond meal, salt, and baking powder.  Mix well until combined.  Finally, if desired, add in the walnuts and chocolate chips. I baked my muffin tins for about 35 minutes, checking every 10 minutes for done-ness with a toothpick.

???????????????????????????????

DSC01184

 

This recipe is definitely Pinteresting! I am convinced these are just as good, or even better than my grandma’s recipe (probably because I feel less guilty after eating them!). With how quick, easy, and delicious this recipe is, there’s no reason to not try it! Head to the store grab the ingredients and get to healthy baking!

 

Happy Pinning,

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Banana Skillet Bread - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

