Pinterest: The Good, the Bad, and the Just Plain Pretty

Standard

Albert Einstein once said, “The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your source”.  For the purpose of this blog we’ll just forget about this quote.

At times we all have moments where creativity is just bubbling inside of us.  Last year while working in a kindergarten class I was introduced to Pinterest.com.  Those you who don’t know what Pinterest is, I highly suggest you quickly click over and get yourself an account (see I’m already giving away my secret sources).  You won’t regret it!  Here’s a quick summary of what Pinterest is all about.  Simply stated on their website, “Pinterest is a tool for collecting and organizing things you love”.  And when they say things, they should say anything and everything you love.  From recipes and DIY projects, to beauty products and methods to recipes for making homemade baby food, the purpose of Pinterest is a virtual idea board where you can pin your ideas by a category you specify yourself.

A screen shot of some of my Pinterest boards.

A screen shot of some of my Pinterest boards.

As I said, I have been a Pinterest member for at least a year now, and I definitely have Pinterest-itous.  I grew up with three younger sisters, a dad who was once a teacher (now a principal), and a mom who is also known as “MomGyver”.  My family is fairly gifted with the creative and DIY genes, and with four girls our house has an addiction to the color pink and sparkly bows.  So why blog about Pinterest? Well, after a few failed Pinterest projects (along with many successful masterpieces) it’s a running joke in my household that things on Pinterest can either be Pinteresting, or Pintrocities (i.e. the name of the blog!).  I want to use this blog to show how easy… or not so easy Pinterest projects can be.  While creating projects I have been meaning to try,  I hope to save you time on the not-so-great Pinterest projects while also encouraging you to re-create the projects I really liked doing. I love trying new things and letting the creative juices flow! With the help of my “handy dandy sisters”, as I call them, we’ll take you on a Pinterest journey through the good, the bad, and the just plain pretty.

Happy Pinning,

Leave a Reply

